Advisory Committee, Authors and Contributors

Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors

Advisory Committee to the Editors

  • J. R. Aluoch: Professor, Nairobi Women's Hospital, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Jacques Baudouy: Director, Health, Nutrition, and Population, World Bank, Washington, DC, United States
  • Fred Binka: Executive Director, INDEPTH Network, Accra, Ghana
  • Mayra Buvinic: Director, Gender and Development, World Bank, Washington, DC, United States
  • David Challoner: Co-Chair Foreign Secretary, Institute of Medicine, U.S. National Academies, Gainesville, Florida, United States
  • Guy de Thé: Co-Chair Research Director and Professor Emeritus, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France
  • Timothy Evans: Assistant Director General, Evidence and Information for Policy, World Health Organization, Geneva, Switzerland
  • Richard Horton: Editor, The Lancet, London, United Kingdom
  • Sharon Hrynkow: Acting Director, Fogarty International Center, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland, United States
  • Gerald Keusch: Provost and Dean for Global Health, Boston University School of Public Health, Boston, Massachusetts, United States
  • Kiyoshi Kurokawa: President, Science Council of Japan, Kanagawa, Japan
  • Peter Lachmann: Past President, U.K. Academy of Medical Sciences, Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Mary Ann Lansang: Executive Director, INCLEN Trust International Inc., Manila, Philippines
  • Christopher Lovelace: Director, Kyrgyz Republic Country Office and Central Asia Human Development, World Bank, Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic
  • Anthony Mbewu: Executive Director, Medical Research Council of South Africa, Tygerberg, South Africa
  • Rajiv Misra: Former Secretary of Health, Government of India, Haryana, India
  • Perla Santos Ocampo: President, National Academy of Science and Technology, San Juan, Philippines
  • G. B. A. Okelo: Secretary General and Executive Director, African Academy of Sciences, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Sevket Ruacan: General Director, MESA Hospital, Ankara, Turkey
  • Pramilla Senanayake: Chairman, Foundation Council of the Global Forum for Health Research, Colombo, Sri Lanka
  • Jaime Sepúlveda: Chair, Director, National Institutes of Health of Mexico, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Chitr Sitthi-amorn: Director, Institute of Health Research, and Dean, Chulalongkorn University, College of Public Health, Bangkok, Thailand
  • Sally Stansfield: Associate Director, Global Health Strategies, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Seattle, Washington, United States
  • Misael Uribe: President, National Academy of Medicine of Mexico, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Zhengguo Wang: Professor, Chinese Academy of Engineering, Daping, China
  • Witold Zatonski: Professor, Health Promotion Foundation, Warsaw, Poland

Contributing Writers

  • Stephen J. Begg: University of Queensland
  • Eduard R. Bos: World Bank
  • Goodarz Danaei: Harvard School of Public Health; Harvard University Initiative for Global Health
  • Majid Ezzati: Harvard School of Public Health; Harvard University Initiative for Global Health
  • Dean T. Jamison: University of California, San Francisco, Disease Control Priorities Project
  • Julian Jamison: University of California, Berkeley
  • Joy E. Lawn: Save the Children-USA, Institute of Child Health, London
  • Alan D. Lopez: University of Queensland, Harvard School of Public Health
  • Colin D. Mathers: World Health Organization
  • Christopher J. L. Murray: Harvard University Initiative for Global Health; Harvard School of Public Health
  • Anthony Rodgers: University of Auckland
  • Joshua Salomon: Harvard School of Public Health
  • Sonbol A. Shahid-Salles: Population Reference Bureau; Disease Control Priorities Project
  • Stephen Robert Vander Hoorn: University of Auckland
  • Jelka Zupan: World Health Organization

Back to top


Sign up to receive periodic email updates from DCPP